Calvados, a traditional and gourmet alcohol!

Calvados, a traditional and gourmet alcohol!

Calvados is a very special alcohol, cider distilled according to very specific criteria in a specific region to produce a spirit with unique characteristics: very present apple notes and a beautiful aromatic complexity coming from the assembly of dozens of varieties of apples and slow ageing in oak barrels. This alcohol, whose creation is traced back to before the 17th century, is the source of many traditions in its region, the beautiful Normandy.

The development of consumption of Calvados in the late nineteenth century, early twentieth S., has generated many traditions of consumption, which punctuate the lives of the Normans, but also their daily lives:

  • On the day of baptism, a spoon of Calvados is given to the newborn to kill the worms.
  • Nannies frequently put Calvados in babies’ milk to strengthen them.
  • The “duck” is a little greed, for children or sweet beaks: it consists of dipping a piece of sugar in Calvados, to eat it immediately, well soaked and perfumed.
  • The “coffee-calva” in the nineteenth and twentieth century, it was customary for workers and farmers to add a dash of Calvados to their morning coffee, in order to warm up and find the energy needed to spend the day at the restaurant. outside, often in the cold and difficult conditions. This “coffee-calva” is much criticized because it represented in the twentieth century, the alcoholism of a poor social class. Fortunately, today, this tradition has given way to excellent cocktails and gourmet liqueurs.
  • The famous “trou normand”: In the 19th century, the “Trou Normand” officially found its place during meals: a small glass of Calvados drunk in the middle the gargantuan banquets. Gustave Flaubert in “Bouvard and Pécuchet” for example refers to this widespread use in 1881. The tradition is that the master of the house invites his guests to lift their glass half full of Calvados to smell it and then the to drink it dry. Today, the tradition has given way to an apple sorbet served with Calvados in the middle of the meal.

Every family from Normandy still has its own traditions, often combining the gourmet products and generosity of Normandy products, for example: Calvados tarte tatin and its farmhouse cream, Camembert flambé with Calvados …

And you ? Do you know other Norman traditions? We would love to know them!

Phone: 123-456-7890
Fax: 098-765-4321
Chicago, IL 60606
123, New Lenox

Le Calvados, un alcool chargé de traditions et de gourmandise !

Le Calvados, un alcool chargé de traditions et de gourmandise !

Le Calvados, un alcool unique, du cidre distillé selon des critères très précis afin de produire une eau-de-vie aux caractéristiques uniques : des notes de pomme très présentes et une belle complexité aromatique grâce à l’assemblage de dizaines de variétés de pommes et à un lent vieillissement dans des fûts de chêne. Cet alcool, dont on retrace la création à avant le XVIIème siècle est source de nombreuses traditions dans sa région, la belle Normandie.

Le développement de la consommation du Calvados à la fin du XIXème S., début du XXème S., à engendré de nombreuses traditions de consommation, qui rythment la vie des normands, mais aussi leur quotidien :

  • Le jour du baptême, on donne une cuillère de Calvados au nouveau-né pour tuer les vers.
  • Les nourrices mettaient fréquemment du Calvados dans le lait des bébés pour les fortifier.
  • Le « canard » est une petite gourmandise, pour les enfants ou des becs sucrés : cela consiste à plonger un morceau de sucre dans du Calvados, pour le croquer aussitôt, bien imbibé et parfumé.
  • Le « café-calva » au XIX et XXème siècle, il était de coutume pour les ouvriers et paysans d’ajouter un trait de Calvados à leur café matinal, afin de se réchauffer et trouver l’énergie nécessaire pour passer la journée à l’extérieur, souvent dans le froid et des conditions difficiles. Ce « café-calva » est très décrié car il représentait au XXème siècle, l’alcoolisme d’une classe sociale pauvre. Heureusement, aujourd’hui, cette tradition a fait place à d’excellents cocktails et des liqueurs gourmandes.
  • Le fameux « trou normand » Au XIXème siècle, le Trou Normand trouve officiellement sa place lors des repas, un petit verre de Calvados allège  lors des gargantuesques banquets. Gustave Flaubert dans « Bouvard et Pécuchet » fait par exemple allusion à cet usage très répandu en 1881. La tradition veut que le maître de maison invite ses convives au milieu du repas à lever leur verre à moitié rempli de Calvados pour le humer et ensuite le boire cul-sec. Aujourd’hui, la tradition a fait place à un sorbet à la pomme servi arrosé de Calvados au milieu du repas.

Chaque famille normande a encore aujourd’hui ses propres traditions, alliant souvent la gourmandise et générosité des produits normands, comme par exemple : la tarte tatin au Calvados et sa crème fermière, le Camembert flambé au Calvados…

Et vous ? Connaissez-vous d’autres traditions normandes ? Nous serions ravis de les connaître !

Phone: 123-456-7890
Fax: 098-765-4321
Chicago, IL 60606
123, New Lenox