Interview of Juliet, founder of Alcopedia

Interview of Juliet, founder of Alcopedia

– Who’s behind the books and spirits Alcopedia?

Behind the cover of the beautiful Alcopedia books, there is Juliet, a 27-year old French girl, passionate about alcohol and loving old books. Above all, behind Alcopedia lies an exceptional cultural heritage, a know-how developed for the past centuries in order to produce the finest spirits, Cognac XO Claude Thorin, a 20-year old Calvados from the Domaine de la Mérité and a Single Malt Whiskey G. Rozelieures, all these that Juliet loves to share and would like to help the epicurians to discover.

 

– What gave birth to this brand?

The Alcopedia brand was initiated from the encounter between two worlds: rare spirits, produced by passionate people who make their products even more perfect from generation to generation, and the world of ancient books. The crossing of these universes gave birth to the name Alcopedia. Alcopedia, which I invented: it is the contraction of the prefix “alco” with reference to alcohols and the Greek suffix “pedia” which means “to learn”. Alcopedia is therefore the Encyclopedia of Alcohols; not without humor, we could add that the best way to learn about the alcohol remains tasting them, which is also why you will find a very nice bottle, ready to teach you plenty of things, inside each Alcopedia book!

 

– How did you come to this concept?

My parents produce Calvados in Normandy, which influenced my interest in the world of spirits. My passion for old books comes from my maternal grandfather, who restored these works of art with a meticulous patience. For me, they are admirable objects. The alliance of books related to the old and rare alcohols seemed obvious: from the outside, we admire a beautiful book-binding without knowing its pages, as the delicate colour of an alcohol shimmers reflections.

The same manner you have to read a book to understand it, you have to taste an alcohol to understand its subtleties. When you taste alcohol, you want to know more about its history, its manufacture, what makes it unique … and the format of a book participates in this story. To keep the spirit of a library, the books are published in 3 formats (pocket, half-folio and folio), you can “read” an alcohol or organize a comparative tasting with a trilogy.

 

– What do you like most about this job?

I have the chance to work on a lot of different things, as well to meet alcohol producers, to supervise the production of the books, the bottling, but also to communicate on the brand, to manage the sales objectives … I love the start-up spirit that allows me to be very responsive and fast, no need to ask a n + 1 … + 2 … + 3, if I have a good idea for Alcopedia, I can implement it at once ! This agility is a real strength and it would cost me a lot to give it up. In terms of Alcopedia, what I like above all is to be able to talk about the selected alcohols because I know them well, I met each of the producers, visited the distilleries and the cellars. It is exciting !

 

– Your favorite product (spirit)?

What a difficult question! Each of the alcohols I chose to present in the books Alcopedia is a personal favorite! Each one has its own characteristics, and is more suited for its unique moments … The Calvados that I chose is an exceptional vintage, assemblage of very old Calvados (the youngest eau-de-vie that comes into its composition at 20 years old), it is an intense alcohol of which a few drops fill with emotions. Cognac is rich in symbols: it is the most famous spirits on the planet and yet young people under 30 almost never consume it… what a pity! It must be discovered and understand the complexity! Alcopedia Whiskey was all the most a  personal discovery … Until only a few years ago, Whiskey was an alcohol that I knew very little about. This Whisky is the greatest introduction to understand the subtle alchemy that gives a peaty side to this nectar, the best way to appreciate it.

 

– A project / A crazy desire?

Plenty of crazy projects! If I were to mention one, it would be to go to Mexico to discover the world of Tequila, of which we have in Europe only a poor image of a white alcohol ready to be consumed in shots or cocktails! In Mexico, Tequila is a prestigious alcohol that is aged and consumed with the same respect as the best French wines and spirits. I would love to discover its production in the village of Tequila, so different from European spirits!

 

– News to share?

It’s been a year already, but I admired Emma Watson’s initiative with her reading circle “Our Shared Shelf”: to promote reading, she did not hesitate to hide books in the London subway. On March 8th, for Women’s Day, she distributed autographed books on the Montreal subway. A nice incentive to read!

Thank you for reading this interview, I would be happy that we keep in contact, follow Alcopedia on social networks :

facebook : https://www.facebook.com/alcopedia/

instagram : https://www.instagram.com/alcopedia/

linkedin : https://www.linkedin.com/company/alcopedia/

Phone: 123-456-7890
Fax: 098-765-4321
Chicago, IL 60606
123, New Lenox

Interview de Juliet, fondatrice d’Alcopedia

 Interview de Juliet, fondatrice d’Alcopedia

– Qui se cache derrière les livres et spiritueux d’Alcopedia?

Derrière la couverture des beaux livres Alcopedia reliés à l’ancienne, il y a Juliet, française de 27 ans, passionnée par les alcools et les livres anciens. Mais surtout, derrière Alcopedia se cache un patrimoine culturel exceptionnel, un savoir-faire développé pendant des siècles pour produire les spiritueux les plus fins, Cognac XO Claude Thorin, Calvados 20 ans d’âge du Domaine de la Mérité et Whisky Single Malt G. Rozelieures, que Juliet adore partager et aimerait faire découvrir aux amateurs de bonnes choses…

 

– Comment est née la marque?

La marque Alcopedia est créée de la rencontre entre deux univers : les spiritueux rares, produits par des passionnés qui, de générations en générations perfectionnent leur produit, et l’univers des livres anciens. On retrouve la recontre de ces univers dans le nom Alcopedia, que j’ai inventé : c’est la contraction du préfixe « alco » en référence aux alcools et du suffixe grec « pedia » qui signifie « apprendre ». Alcopedia c’est donc l’Encyclopédie des Alcools ; non sans humour, on pourrait ajouter que le meilleur moyen d’en apprendre sur les alcools restant de les goûter, la bouteille dans le livre Alcopedia prend donc toute la mesure de son rôle !

 

 – Comment t’es venu ce concept ?

Mes parents produisent du Calvados en Normandie, ce qui a influencé mon intérêt pour l’univers des alcools. Ma passion pour les livres anciens vient de mon grand-père maternel, qui restaurait ces ouvrages d’art avec une patience méticuleuse. Pour moi, ce sont des objets magnifiques. L’alliance des livres reliés à l’ancienne et des alcools rares m’a semblé une évidence : de l’extérieur, on admire une belle reliure sans connaître ses pages, comme la robe d’un alcool miroite de reflets. Comme il faut lire un livre pour le comprendre, il faut déguster un alcool pour en saisir ses subtilités.  Quand on déguste un alcool, on a envie d’en savoir plus sur son histoire, sa fabrication, ce qui le rend unique… et le format d’un livre participe à cette histoire. Pour garder l’esprit d’une bibliothèque, les livres sont édités en 3 formats (livre de poche, demi-folio et in-folio), on peut « lire » un alcool ou organiser une dégustation comparative avec une trilogie.

 

– Qu’est ce qui te plaît le plus dans ce boulot ?

J’ai la chance de travailler sur plein de choses différentes, aussi bien rencontrer des producteurs d’alcools, que superviser la production des livres, l’embouteillage, mais aussi communiquer sur la marque, gérer les objectifs de vente… J’adore l’esprit start-up qui me permet d’être très réactive et rapide, pas besoin de demander à un n+1…+2…+3, si j’ai une bonne idée pour Alcopedia, je peux la mettre en œuvre immédiatement ! Cette agilité est une vraie force et il me serait coûteux d’y renoncer. Au niveau d’Alcopedia, ce qui me plaît par-dessus tout c’est de pouvoir parler des alcools sélectionnés car je les connais bien, j’ai été rencontré chacun des producteurs, visité les distilleries et les chais. C’est passionnant !

 

– Ton produit (spiritueux) préféré ?

Quelle question difficile ! Chacun des spiritueux que j’ai choisi de présenter dans les livres Alcopedia est un coup de coeur ! Chacun a sa façon, et pour des moments différents… Le Calvados que j’ai choisi est un cru exceptionnel, assemblages de très vieux Calvados (l’eau-de-vie la plus jeune entrant dans sa composition a 20 ans), c’est un alcool intense dont quelques gouttes emplissent d’émotions. Le Cognac est riche en symboles : c’est le spiritueux le plus renommé de la planète et pourtant les jeunes de moins de 30 ans ne le consomment quasiment jamais…quel dommage ! Il faut le découvrir et en comprendre la complexité ! Le Whisky d’Alcopedia a été pour moins une révélation… Jusqu’à il y a seulement quelques années, le Whisky était un alcool que je ne connaissais que très peu, celui-ci est la meilleure introduction qu’il soit pour comprendre la subtile alchimie qui donne un côté tourbé à ce nectar et déjà arriver à l’apprécier.

 

– Un projet/ Une envie folle ?

Plein de projets fous ! Si je ne devais en citer qu’un ce serait de partir au Mexique découvrir le monde de la Tequila dont nous n’avons en Europe qu’une piètre image d’un alcool blanc prêt à être consommé en shots ou en cocktails ! Au Mexique, la Tequila est un spiritueux prestigieux qui est vieilli et consommé avec les mêmes égards que les plus grands vins français. J’adorerais découvrir sa production, tellement différente des alcools européens !

 

– Une actualité à partager ?

Ca date d’il y a déjà un an, mais j’admire l’initiative d’Emma Watson avec son cercle de lecture « Our Shared Shelf » : pour promouvoir la lecture, elle n’a pas hésité à cacher des livres dans le métro de Londres. Le 8 mars, pour la journée de la femme, elle a fait distribuer des livres dédicacés dans le métro de Montréal. Une belle incitation à la lecture !

 

Merci pour votre intérêt !

Suivez Alcopedia sur les réseaux :

facebook : https://www.facebook.com/alcopedia/

instagram : https://www.instagram.com/alcopedia/

linkedin : https://www.linkedin.com/company/alcopedia/

Phone: 123-456-7890
Fax: 098-765-4321
Chicago, IL 60606
123, New Lenox