Chocolate and spirits: a short guide to a successful marriage

As Easter approaches, gourmands wake up and anticipate subtle agreements between spirits and chocolates! How to marry the two in the most harmonious way? Chocolate with Cognac, Whiskey or Calvados? One must start by choosing the spirit that we want to taste for Easter (or any other gourmet moment). Then, one should select the chocolate, according to the aromas of the chosen alcohol.

For the Whiskey, here is the extract of an interview with Victoire Finaz, chocologist and chocolate designer: “In general, it is the drink that guides the choice of chocolate! Well tuned, both form a harmonious couple and can even trigger passions … A young whiskey, with notes of honey, vanilla or cocoa will echo, with the sweetness of a ganache to milk chocolate and tonka bean. Its notes of caramel, vanilla and almond temper the alcohol and soften the tasting of the whiskey. A whiskey with more peat, with notes of candied yellow fruit, will match perfectly with a bitter orange ganache.

For many amateurs, Cognac will be the perfect match with chocolate and a cigar. In this case, one should favor a chocolate truffle, melting and creamy, which marries wonderfully with the roundness in the mouth of Cognac. A very nice agreement to enjoy with free time ahead. The rancio of our Cognac Claude Thorin XO will also develop generously with a chocolate dessert. We can also enrich this gourmet duo of a vanilla ice cream that will bring a surprising contrast to the agreement between chocolate and Cognac XO, as suggested in the Major Agreements of Cognac ( in French: http://www.lesitinerairesdecharlotte.fr/wp-content). /uploads/2016/03/livrets-BtoC-d%C3%A9f.compressed.pdf)

More daring, the renowned Belgian chocolatier, Pierre Marcolini, surprises us with delicately scented ganaches. The range of choices is immense and gourmets can marry the scent of the ganache with the vanilla and spicy notes of an old Calvados like our 20-year old Calvados de la Mérité.

The golden rule to remember for the perfect marriage of a chocolate and a spirit is to associate the sweet roundness of a young alcohol, a rum or a liquor with a milk chocolate while a very old alcohol, developing spicier or even woodier notes will be associated with the length in the mouth of an intense dark chocolate. It’s up to you to find the perfect match, according to your tastes! Easter is coming, if you are still undecided, do not hesitate to contact us at contact@alcopedia.com for more personalized advice and find our products on www.alcopedia.com. Have a good tasting !

Phone: 123-456-7890
Fax: 098-765-4321
Chicago, IL 60606
123, New Lenox

Chocolat et spiritueux : petit guide du mariage réussi

A l’approche de Pâques, les gourmands se réveillent et prévoient des accords subtils entre les spiritueux et le chocolat ! Comment marier harmonieusement les deux ? Chocolat et Cognac, Whisky ou Calvados ? Il faut commencer par choisir le spiritueux qu’on aura envie de déguster pour Pâques, ou tout autre moment gourmand. Ensuite, on accorde le chocolat, selon les arômes de l’alcool choisi.

Pour le Whisky, retour sur une interview de Victoire Finaz, chocologue et créatrice de chocolat : « En règle générale, c’est la boisson qui oriente le choix du chocolat ! Bien accordés, l’un et l’autre forment un couple harmonieux et peuvent même déclencher des passions… Un whisky jeune, aux notes de miel, de vanille ou de cacao s’accordera, en écho, avec la douceur d’une ganache au chocolat au lait et à la fève tonka. Ses notes de caramel, de vanille et d’amande tempèrent l’alcool et adoucissent la dégustation du whisky. Un whisky plus tourbé aux notes de fruits jaunes confits, quant à lui, s’accordera à merveille avec une ganache d’orange amère. »

Pour beaucoup d’amateurs, le Cognac sera l’accord parfait avec un chocolat et un cigare. On privilégie dans ce cas une truffe chocolatée, fondante et crémeuse qui se mariera avec merveille à la rondeur en bouche du Cognac. Un très bel accord à savourer patiemment. Le rancio de notre Cognac Claude Thorin XO se développera généreusement avec un dessert chocolaté. On peut aussi enrichir ce duo gourmand d’une glace à la vanille qui apportera un contraste étonnant à l’accord chocolat-Cognac XO, comme suggéré dans les Accords Majeurs du Cognac (http://www.lesitinerairesdecharlotte.fr/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/livrets-BtoC-d%C3%A9f.compressed.pdf)

Plus audacieux, le chocolatier belge de renom, Pierre Marcolini, nous surprend avec des ganaches délicatement parfumées. L’éventail des choix est alors immense et le gourmande pourra marier le parfum de la ganache aux notes vanillées et épicées d’un vieux Calvados ou de l’alcool de son choix.

La règle d’or à retenir pour le mariage parfait d’un chocolat et d’un spiritueux est d’associer la rondeur sucrée d’un jeune alcool, d’un Rhum ou d’une liqueur avec un chocolat au lait tandis qu’un très vieil alcool, développant davantage des notes épicées voire boisées s’associera avec la longueur en bouche d’un chocolat noir intense. A vous de trouver l’accord parfait, selon vos goûts ! Pâques approche, si vous êtes encore indécis, n’hésitez pas à faire appel à nous sur contact@alcopedia.com pour des conseils plus personnalisés et retrouvez nos produits sur www.alcopedia.com. Bonne dégustation !

 

 

Phone: 123-456-7890
Fax: 098-765-4321
Chicago, IL 60606
123, New Lenox