What is peat ?

To describe a Whisky, a taster often talks about its peatiness, or absence of peatiness. (in French : la tourbe)

But what exactly is peat?

Peat is a plant material extracted from the ground. It is formed by mucus in wetlands or bogs. Peatlands are fragile balanctodaye, their composition is mainly made of organic materials.

It is frequently said that only Scottish whiskeys are authentic because they are made with the local peat. But peat is not exclusive to Scotland at all! It is certainly very common in Scotland, but is found in many soils elsewhere in Europe, and especially in the Lorraine basin and in the Vosges, where soils are home of ancient volcanoes and left a heritage of exceptional peat.

What relationship with the whiskey?

Malt (the barley grains germinated) is dried before being distilled. Traditionally, to dry the malt, producers have the choice between a selection of combustibles: wood, peat (and today often gas). Producers using peat as combustible will soak their spirits of peaty notes. Indeed, burning peat releases phenols which flavors the barley grains, and can be tasted in the spirits (with subtle and elegant notes, which is the whole secret of the master distiller).

Whisky-lovers refer to ppm (parts per million) to classify the level of peat in a given whiskey, it is the measure of the amount of phenols. The Whisky presented by Alcopedia develops a beautiful and delicate, pretty iconic, peat.

Phone: 123-456-7890
Fax: 098-765-4321
Chicago, IL 60606
123, New Lenox

La tourbe : qu’est ce que c’est ?

Pour décrire un Whisky, le dégustateur parlera souvent de son aspect plus ou moins tourbé.

Mais qu’est-ce que la tourbe exactement ?

La tourbe est une matière végétale issue du sol. Elle est formée par l’accumulation de mucus dans une zone humide qualifiée de tourbière. Les tourbières sont des équilibres fragiles, dont la composition est principalement faite de matières organiques.

Il est fréquemment dit que seuls les Whiskys Ecossais sont authentiques car fabriqués avec la tourbe locale. Mais la tourbe n’est pas du tout exclusive à l’Ecosse ! Elle est certes très répandue en Ecosse, mais se retrouve dans de nombreux sols ailleurs en Europe, et notamment dans le bassin lorrain et dans les Vosges, où les sols abritent d’anciens volcans et ont laissés un terroir de tourbières exceptionnelles.

Quel rapport avec le Whisky ?

Le malt (les grains d’orge germés) avant d’être distillé est séché. Traditionnellement, pour le sécher, les producteurs utilisent divers matériaux : bois, tourbe (souvent gaz aujourd’hui). Les producteurs utilisant la tourbe comme combustible vont imprégner leurs eaux-de-vie de notes tourbées. En effet, en brûlant la tourbe dégage des phénols qui vont parfumer les grains d’orge, et se ressentiront dans l’eau-de-vie (avec subtilité et élégance, c’est là tout le secret du maître-distillateur).

Les amateurs, pour classer le niveau de tourbé d’un Whisky le mesure en ppm (partie par millions), c’est la quantité de phénols restant sur matière sèche. Le Whisky présenté par Alcopedia développe un beau tourbé, fin et délicat, assez emblématique de la tourbe « à la française » répondant au goût d’un consommateur averti.

Phone: 123-456-7890
Fax: 098-765-4321
Chicago, IL 60606
123, New Lenox