Interview with Juliet, founder

 

 

“Alcopedia, is the encounter between my two passions: the tasting exceptional spirits, and books. The passion for spirits is a bit of a family affair. My parents picked it 20 years ago, a farm producing Calvados. During my studies in business school, I quickly invested myself in the oenological association of the school. It was an opportunity to multiply the meetings with producers of wines and spirits from France and elsewhere, they passionately sharing their love of the product and the importance of traditional knowledge and the enhancement of terroir.

Alcopedia mission is primarily to allow these men and women to share special alcohols, from the best vineyards of Europe (Charente, Normandy, Scotland, the Netherlands or Alsace), offering them a home that is worthy of their production.

Why books?

Small, I watched for hours my grandfather restore old books. A slow labor of love, designed to transmit to future generations some of the most beautiful pages of our past. By observing its precise movements that came to me the passion and respect for beautiful books: no question of going cut to store my bottles!

But any library that respects has some secrets: some books open the doors of the mind, others reveal hidden passages; others still lurk within them unsuspected riches … These books-hiding as valuable inside and outside, are an opportunity to discover the history of exceptional spirits … while joining practice to theory. “

Phone: 123-456-7890
Fax: 098-765-4321
Chicago, IL 60606
123, New Lenox

Entretien avec Juliet, fondatrice

 

« Alcopedia, c’est la rencontre entre mes deux passions : la dégustation de spiritueux d’exception, et les livres. La passion pour les spiritueux, c’est un peu une affaire familiale. Mes parents ont repris, il y a 20 ans, une exploitation agricole produisant du Calvados. Pendant mes études en école de commerce, je m’investis rapidement au sein de l’association œnologique de l’école. Ce fut l’occasion de multiplier les rencontres avec des producteurs de vins et de spiritueux de France et d’ailleurs, ces derniers partageant avec passion leur amour du produit, et l’importance des savoir-faire traditionnels et de la mise en valeur du terroir.

La mission d’Alcopedia est avant tout de permettre à ces hommes et femmes de partager des alcools exceptionnels, issus des meilleurs terroirs d’Europe (Charente, Normandie, Ecosse, Pays-Bas ou Alsace), en leur offrant un écrin à la hauteur de leur production.

Pourquoi les livres ?

Petite, j’observais des heures durant mon grand-père restaurer de vieux ouvrages. Un lent travail d’amour, destiné à transmettre aux générations futures quelques unes des plus belles pages de notre passé. C’est en observant ses gestes précis que m’est venue la passion et le respect des beaux livres : pas question d’aller les découper pour y ranger mes flacons !

Mais toute bibliothèque qui se respecte comporte quelques secrets : certains livres ouvrent les portes de l’esprit, d’autres révèlent des passages dérobés ; d’autres enfin cachent en leur sein des richesses insoupçonnées… Ces livres-cachette, aussi précieux à l’intérieur qu’à l’extérieur, sont l’occasion de découvrir l’histoire de spiritueux exceptionnels … tout en joignant la pratique à la théorie. »

malle-louis-vuitton-bibliohteque

Phone: 123-456-7890
Fax: 098-765-4321
Chicago, IL 60606
123, New Lenox