Why Cognac “Grande Champagne” is called like this ?
Among the 6 crus of Cognac, the most prestigious are Grande Champagne and Petite Champagne. Why do they call it that? What relationship with the famous fizzy drink?

Soils that are found in the Grande and Petite Champagne are constituted of clay and limestone. They are quite superficial, made of soft limestone and chalk. The limestone content is very high from the surface (as you can see on the picture). These soils have very similar characteristics to the soils of the Champagne region. The Charentes regions were named Grande Champagne and Petite Champagne referring to their terroir, very similar to the one in Champagne (Reims).

The type of clay found in these soils (montmorillonite) gives them a good structure, high fertility and proper water reserve, proprice to the development of the vine.

Despite their thinness, these soils  are resistant to drought, especially as the porous subsoil contributes to the water reserve: it acts like a giant sponge through which water may slowly rise gradually as the summer dryness increases.

The word champagne, in old French, “champaigne” comes from the Latin “campania“, meaning countryside or open (as opposed to wooded areas).

Grande Champagne has 13 200 ha of vineyards. The wine from these vineyards is made for Cognac. The Grande Champagne Cognacs are known for making very thin and light, stylish, predominantly floral bouquet. The Grande Champagne Cognac is traditionally considered the most prestigious. The Cognac made from this locality can benefit from AOC  “Cognac Grande Champagne” and “Cognac Grande Fine Champagne”.

Find the Cognac Grande Champagne Alcopedia in our shop.

Discover an interactive map of region of Cognac.

Phone: 123-456-7890
Fax: 098-765-4321
Chicago, IL 60606
123, New Lenox

Cognac : pourquoi la Grande Champagne s’appelle ainsi ?
Parmi les 6 crus de Cognac, les plus prestigieux sont la Grande Champagne et la Petite Champagne. Pourquoi s’appellent-ils ainsi ? Quel rapport avec la célèbre boisson pétillante ?

Les sols que l’on retrouve en Grande et Petite champagne sont des sols argilo-calcaires assez superficiels sur calcaire tendre, crayeux, du crétacé. La teneur en calcaire est très élevée dès la surface. Ces sols ont des caractéristiques très similaires aux sols de la région champenoise. Les régions charentaises ont été baptisées Grande et Petite Champagnes en référence à leur terroir.

Le type d’argiles rencontré dans ces sols (montmorillonite) leur confère une bonne structure, une fertilité élevée et une réserve en eau correcte, proprice à l’épanouissement de la vigne.

Malgré leur faible épaisseur, ces sols craignent donc peu la sécheresse, d’autant que le sous-sol poreux contribue à la réserve en eau : il se comporte comme une énorme éponge au travers de laquelle l’eau peut lentement remonter au fur et à mesure que la sécheresse estivale s’accentue.

Le mot champagne, en vieux français « champaigne » vient du latin « campania » soit campagne ou plaine découverte (en opposition aux zones boisées).

La Grande Champagne compte 13 200 ha de vignes. Le vin issu de ces vignes est destiné au Cognac.  Les Cognacs Grande Champagne sont connus comme étant des eaux-de-vie très fines et légères, élégantes, au bouquet à dominante florale. Le Cognac Grande Champagne est traditionnellement considéré comme le plus prestigieux. Les eaux-de-vie issues exclusivement de ce la localité délimitée peuvent bénéficier de l’Appellation Contrôlée « Cognac Grande Champagne » ou « Cognac Grande Fine Champagne ».

Retrouvez le Cognac Grande Champagne d’Alcopedia dans notre boutique.

Découvrez une carte interactive des crus de Cognac.

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

trois × 1 =

wp-puzzle.com logo

Phone: 123-456-7890
Fax: 098-765-4321
Chicago, IL 60606
123, New Lenox